Eventful morning (NO, I’M NOT IN LABOR YET!)

As previously mentioned, Michael has been having quite a few breathing treatments over the past week or two. What this works out to, for those of you who don’t know, is that one or two albuterol treatments through the nebulizer can take care of most of his coughing and wheezing for at least a full day, if not rid him of it completely.
Well, yesterday afternoon, I could hear that he was coughing hard, but not too much wheezing. Since his grandma was coming to stay over night yesterday, I decided to give him a treatment so that he wouldn’t have to take time away from being with her later in the day. Needlesstosay, he needed another one before bed, because I could hear him wheezing when I put my ear to his chest. Downright whistle-y, to tell you the truth.
Michael coughed off and on throughout the night, but around midnight, he was coughing so hard that I went in to check on him. I ended up giving him another breathing treatment because I was so nervous about his breathing. He recovered well enough to fall asleep and made it until about six o’clock this morning (still coughing off and on throughout the night, but not like at midnight) when I sent Steve in to check on him because he was coughing so hard again. Oh, and on top of all this, I was giving him cough medicine, too. Steve went into panic mode and brought Michael into me saying he was taking him into the hospital. I told him that all they would do there would be to do what we would do, so we should do it first and see what happens. He wasn’t happy, but listened to me anyway.
Michael did well for about 10 minutes after the breathing treatment, and then when I stood in his bathroom, I could hear his wheezing while he sat in his bed (a good 15 feet away). Thankfully, the pediatrician has a walk-in hour and I got all of us ready and off we went.
Michael had three breathing treatments within an hour and prednisone (spelling??). The doctor monitored how much oxygen he was getting and his heart rate. They were happy with his progress, so we were allowed to come home instead of going to the hospital to be admitted for monitoring. I was happy about that, but of course, if they would have said that is what we would have to do, I would have been there in a heartbeat. So, until tomorrow, I am to give him breathing treatments every 4 hours. I am even to wake him up throughout the night to do it. Tomorrow, I will take him back to the doctor for a check up.
What fun, huh? Poor little guy is really feeling much better and wants to run around, but I keep hollering at him to stop running and all that craziness. I’m glad to see he’s feeling better, but I don’t want him to have any problems because of it.
For someone who has only ever had two albuterol treatments within a 24 hour period, he’s doing well with the 8 he’s had within the last 24 hours. A little wild, but that’s to be expected. πŸ˜‰
I’ll try to check in later, but don’t fret if you don’t hear from me. I’ll update when I can!
Hope YOU are having a fantastic, fantastic day. πŸ™‚

4 responses to “Eventful morning (NO, I’M NOT IN LABOR YET!)

  1. At least the treatments are working for him. Unfortunately, until they decide he’s asmatic,, that’s all you can do. I hope it helps, though, whatever the cause. There is good news, though… it should breathe easier when we lose some of this heat and humidity.

  2. Poor kiddo!!! Give him extra snuggles from me and try (I know it’ll be hard) to get some rest tonight through all the wakings. Think of it as practice for when peanut arrives!! πŸ˜‰

  3. Who is James??? I feel that i have competition πŸ˜‰ And no, I still have not updated my blog!

  4. James is just another random blogger guy. But you know.. if it’s competition you’re after… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

